Volunteering at HackerNest Toronto February 2020 Edition

Volunteering at HackerNest Toronto February 2020 Edition

WhatsApp Image 2020-02-27 at 10.57.42 AM (1).jpeg

“Alone, we can do so little; together, we can do so much” – Helen Keller

Before I write further, I think this is a quote that fits apt to every tech community and every person who comes in as a floater, volunteer, attendee and give in their advice, tips, feedbacks and keep the tech community alive.

Geeks are not introvert, it is just that geek wait for optimum opportunity.

;-P

Now let's start...

What is Toronto February 2020 Tech Social?

Okay, that is a good one. Toronto February 2020 Tech Social is an event organized by HackerNest along with some volunteers who love to contribute to the tech community.

WhatsApp Image 2020-02-27 at 10.57.42 AM (2).jpeg This is when all the attendees form a circle and get 10 seconds to speak about themselves and why they are at the Tech Social.

People come in from various aspects of life. Someone is a professor who teaches cybersecurity, while someone is a developer who writes codes for games, someone works on blockchain, while some are students looking who want to meet people, some are those who are new to the world of tech and are curious to know about things which are happening in the tech industry.

Why did I come for this?

WhatsApp Image 2020-02-27 at 9.48.18 AM.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2020-02-27 at 9.48.18 AM (1).jpeg

A few pictures of the city and Union railway station as I arrived.

I got to know that Toronto is a city with life, diversity and is a vibrant city. It has been just two months in Canada and after I started going to my school and working part-time on weekends, I felt that there was a need for me to relax and know about the city and the tech culture. This is when I got to know about HackerNest and I planned to volunteer for a tech social.

Why am I in love with them already?

Pizza and great people to volunteer with are the two primary reasons. Volunteering at these events helps me to take a break from the monotony of life and also get to know about various tech stacks and projects on which people are working. In addition, I get an opportunity to serve the community which helps me when I get stuck with bug fixes or when I require better alternatives to write a piece of code.

How did it start?

I was late as it took me some time to understand the public commute of the system, especially the subways. As I reached, I got to grab some pizza and the can of Coke.

WhatsApp Image 2020-02-27 at 10.57.41 AM (1).jpeg Let the game begin!

I was introduced to a bunch of other volunteers who were from various professions, starting from the Finance industry to event management to research. The vibes were great and I got to work at serving drinks and then get to know people.

Why do we even need this event?

Frankly speaking, I think I need these events for the below picture.

WhatsApp Image 2020-02-27 at 10.57.43 AM (2).jpeg

For some, this is love too!

WhatsApp Image 2020-02-27 at 10.57.43 AM (1).jpeg

Jokes apart, these events are a great place for founders and co-founders of budding startups to look out for people to collaborate with, students like me can get to know what people are working on and look for internship opportunities. These events encourage those who are new into the world of tech to come and share their problems which they are facing and we the member of the community help them and encourage them to grow and develop fast by solving problems together.

Apart from all this, people like me can talk topics like will JS be obsolete if we assume that there are no frameworks in existence. or not being used. You can put your views on this below!

**A big shout out for all the volunteers and the organizers

WhatsApp Image 2020-02-27 at 10.57.41 AM (2).jpeg So, these are those active people who made it a huge success and made my first time volunteering experience amazing in Toronto!

Endnotes

Volunteering at some events does not only helps you to learn to do small things with amazing people and learn about what is new in the tech and what are people working on, but also makes you cozy and comfortable around people from diverse backgrounds in technology. It also helps you to understand and find someone who is working on the same issue on which you are trying to or thinking to work.

One can check the upcoming events here: HackerNest